Tonight Alive’s Limitless and All my 2016 Drama

I said I would only blog about local songs and bands, but right now I just can’t help but write about Tonight Alive. The new year has just started so I’m still feeling nostalgic and sentimental. Personally, 2016 was so challenging and Tonight Alive is one of the bands who got me through the year.

In 2016, my father retired from work because of his health condition, my best friend went abroad for good, and someone who I treated like a sister turned out to be the worst friend in the world. Everything that happened carved big holes in my heart. I felt I died multiple times. I know I’m being a super drama queen here but it’s true, I’m never going to be the same again after 2016. I think no one will ever be the same again if they found out that their father has Alzheimers, or that their closest friend is spreading rumors about them and their family for months, or that their soul’s other half is going away and they’ll never gonna see each other for at least two years. Even I am not strong enough for all that.

Tonight Alive has always sung out my feelings for me. They wrote songs that perfectly capture the situations I’m in. Their newest album, Limitless, is a different record. I didn’t appreciate it the first time I heard it. But this year, when everything happened, all I can cling onto was this album. I kept playing The Greatest for hours, days!

The album talks about facing problems headstrong and getting over each one of them with grace. I didn’t appreciate the record the first time I heard it because I didn’t understand it. Before, I didn’t know what it’s like to become a better person by being able to overcome life’s challenges. All I know is getting over boys and being a strong woman by being independently single all the time. I thought I’m already being strong by being that. After my 2016 hurdles, I realized that there is more to life than breakups. I hold my true friends and family tighter and closer to my heart; “I am happiest when I’m surrounded by the best of my friends and that’s as simple as it gets”

Leave a Reply

